Tanach Definitions

I had to do these definitions as homework a few days ago. Here’s the copy of it:

TANACH is the main book of Judaism, which we received on Mt. Sinai. It contains three collections of books: Torah, Neviim, and Ketuvim, which form the acronym TANACH. TANACH is also known as the BIBLE. However, the Christian Bible adds an extra part which talks about Jesus.


TORAH is the first part of TANACH. We read the TORAH on Mondays, Thursdays, and Shabbat. It is divided into 5 books (Bereshit, Shemot, Vayikra, Bamidbar, Devarim), which are divided into 52 parshas, or portions. The parsha we read for this week is called Parshat HaShavoua.


NEVIIM is the second part of TANACH. It is the writings of the Neviim, the Prophets. Parts of this book are taken as the Haftorahs. The reason the Sages decreed reading the Haftorahs is because the Greeks, when they ruled Israel, forced the Jews to not publicly say the TORAH, so instead, they picked parts of NEVIIM to be read that are similar to the Parshat HaShavoua.


KETUVIM is the last book of the TANACH. This books contains the 5 Megillot, Tehillim, and many other assorted writings. Pieces from KETUVIM are read at certain holidays.


CHUMASH is basically the TORAH. It is those five books we mentioned earlier, which also gives it the name THE FIVE BOOKS OF MOSES. We get the word CHUMASH from the Hebrew word for five, which is Chameysh.

2 thoughts on “Tanach Definitions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *